2.3 C
Monday, January 30, 2023

Sri Lanka president swears in 37 new state ministers from SLPP, SLFP

Must read

ECONOMYNEXT – With prospects of an all-party government in crisis-hit Sri Lanka looking increasingly dim, 37 MPs representing the ruling Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) and the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) have been appointed as state ministers before President Ranil Wickremesinghe.

SLFP MP Ranjith Siyambalapitiya and SLPP MP Shehan Semasinghe were sworn in as State Ministers of Finance before the president Thursday September 08 morning. Both have served as state ministers of finance in different governments.

The new appointments came after repeated calls by President Wickremesinghe for an all-party government were either ignored or avoided by opposition parties. Wickremesinghe sought the support of all parties represented in parliament, particularly the main opposition the Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) and party seniors like Harsha de Silva, to see Intentional Monetary Fund (IMF)-recommended economic reforms through, but the SJB, the Tamil National Alliance and the leftist Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP)-led Nationl People’s Power (NPP) among other parties declined.

However, one SJB MP – Aravindh Kumar – appears to have defected to the government. He was appointed as State Minister of Education.

SLPP MP Janaka Wakkaumbara was appointed as State Minister of Provincial Councils and Local Government.

Other appointments are as follows:

Mohan Priyadarshana De Silva, State Minister of Agriculture

Lasantha Alagiyawanna, State Minister of Transport

Vijitha Berugoda, State Minister of Piriven Education

Lohan Ratwatte, State Minister of Plantation Industries

Sanath Nishantha, State Minister of Water Supply

Indika Anurudhdha, State Minister of Power and Energy

Siripala Gamlath, State Minister of Highways

Shantha Bandara, State Minister of Media

Prasanna Ranaweera, State Minister of Small and Medium Scale Industries

D V Chanaka, State Minister of Wildlife and Forest Conservation

D B Herath, State Minister of Livestock Development

Shasheendra Rajapaksa, State Minister of Irrigation

Dr Seetha Arambepola, State Minister of Health

Ashoka Priyantha, State Minister of Home Affairs

Aravind Kumar, State Minister of Education

Geetha Kumarasinghe, State Minister of Women and Child Affairs

Dr Suren Raghavan, State Minister of Higher Education

Kanaka Herath, State Minster of Technology


- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x