FFSL announces squad for Asia up qualifiers – The Morning


  • A day before the opening game 

By Ranjika Perera

Sri Lanka squad (23 players) for the 2023 AFC Asian Cup Qualifiers:

Sujan Perera (Captain), Mohamed Fazal, Chalana Chameera, Charitha Rathnayake, Harsha Fernando, Asikur Rahuman, Ruwan Arunasiri, Jude Suman, Chathuranga Madushan, Mohamed Aakib, Chamod Dilshan, Dillon De Silva, Mohamed Shifan, Kaveesh Fernando, Mariyathas Nitharshan, Abdul Basith, Afeel Mohamed, Shabeer Razooniya, Sasanga Dilhara, Aman Faizer, Shenal Sandesh, Sebastianpillai Jesuthasan, and Tharmakulanathan Kajakopan


8 June, Wednesday: Sri Lanka vs. Uzbekistan at 9 p.m.

11 June, Saturday: Sri Lanka vs. Thailand at 5 p.m.

14 June, Tuesday: Sri Lanka vs. Maldives at 5 p.m.


*All matches will be held at Markaziy Stadium, Namangan, Uzbekistan

*All times in Sri Lankan time

The Football Federation of Sri Lanka, aka Sri Lanka Football (SLF), yesterday (7) announced a 23-man Sri Lanka squad for the 2023 Asian Football Confederation (AFC) Asian Cup Qualifiers in Uzbekistan.

The squad was supposed to happen last week, but due delay in getting the approval from the Sports Ministry, SLF was unable to announce it.

Wazeem Razeek not named

The team will be led by goalkeeper Sujan Perera. Star striker Wazeem Razeek’s name is not in the squad after having a dispute with the administration regarding annual contracts.

Sri Lanka will miss the services of Kavindu Ishan who is still recovering from an injury. The two newcomers in the side are Shenal Sandesh and Sebastianpillai Jesuthasan, who have earned their maiden call-ups to the national side.

CAPTION (Football): 

Sri Lanka Captain Sujan Perera

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Share post:




More like this

මැතිසබේ විහිලු කතා සෙල්ලම දෙවියන්ගේ නාමයෙන් නවත්වන්න

ජනතාවගේ ප්‍රශ්නවලට උත්තර සොයනවා වෙනුවට විවිධ විහිළු...

මැතිසබයේ විහිලු කතා සෙල්ලම දෙවියන්ගේ නාමයෙන් නවත්වන්න

ජනතාවගේ ප්‍රශ්නවලට උත්තර සොයනවා වෙනුවට විවිධ විහිළු...

දුම්රිය නියාමකයන් මධ්‍යම රාත්‍රීයේ සිට වර්ජනයේ

දුම්රිය නියාමකයන් අද (5) මධ්‍යම රාත්‍රීයේ සිට සේවයෙන් ඉවත්...
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x