9.7 C
Thursday, March 30, 2023

Trinity leaders appointed in cricket and rugby – The Morning

Must read

  • Akram Muthalib and Lithmal Moragoda appointed the Captains

By Hafiz Marikar in Kandy

Trinity College, Kandy announced the appointment of coloursman and senior prefect Lithmal Moragoda as their rugby Captain and Loshika Wijekoon as their rugby Vice Captain. 

Akram Muthalib, meanwhile, has been appointed as the Trinity cricket Captain and Matheesha Pathirana as the cricket Vice Captain.

Trinity rugby

Trinity started playing rugby way back in 1906. At one time, the school was known as “the cradle of the country’s rugby”. It is often said that Trinity takes to rugby like ducks taking to water!

They started playing Under-17 rugby in 1956. From then up to 1971, Trinity had been unbeaten for 15 long years.

They not only have produced several champion teams but also have provided the national team with the most number of ruggerites over the last many years.

This year’s rugby support staff

They have already played a few friendly rugby games this year. Under the leadership of Moragoda, Trinity is sure to give off their best this time around.

Trinity are lucky to retain the services of Kavinda Jayasena as their rugby Head Coach. Their Assistant Coach is Thusitha de Silva. The Manager of the team is Rajendra Gamage. Dulanja Abeyawickrema is the Master-in-Charge of rugby and Shane de Silva is Trinity’s rugby Prefect-of-Games.

The “Old Trinitians’ Rugby Scrummage” is headed by Channa Pathirane. The Trinity ‘Rugby Scrummage’ plays an important role in the growth of rugby at the school.

Trinity cricket this year

The new Trinity cricket Captain appointed, Akram Muthalib, and his deputy Matheesha Pahirana were expected to lead the team first against Royal College, Colombo at Asgiriya last week.

Their First-XI cricket interim Head Coach is Navin Ekanayake and the Master-in-Charge is Bryan Senarthne.

Trinity vs. Royal history

The Royal-Trinity traditional inter-school cricket match is one of the oldest school cricket matches played in Sri Lanka.

The series had started way back in 1893. The first game was won by Royal and Trinity’s first victory had come three years later, in the year 1896.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x