12.8 C
Tuesday, May 30, 2023

Sri Lanka president appoints 10 new cabinet ministers

Must read

ECONOMYNEXT – Ten new cabinet ministers were appointed by Sri Lanka President Gotabaya Rajapaksa on Monday (23), bringing total appointments to 10 so far since the appointment of Ranil Wickremesinghe as Prime Minister earlier this month.

The following MPs were sworn in as ministers Monday morning before President Rajapaksa.

Douglas Devananda: Minister of Fisheries

Bandula Gunawardena: Minister of Transport & Highways, and Mass Media

Keheliya Rambukwella: Minister of Water Supply

Mahinda Amaraweera: Minister of Agriculture, and Forest Resources and Wildlife

Ramesh Pathirana: Minister of Industries

Vidura Wickramanayake: Minister of Buddhashasana, Religious, and Cultural Affairs

Ahamed Naseer: Minister of Environment

Roshan Ranasinghe: Minister of Irrigation, and Sports and Youth Affairs

Notably, newly sworn in Agriculture Minister Mahinda Samaraweera represents the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP), which had said it would not be taking any cabinet positions within the government. The party has yet to respond to Amaraweera’s appointment.

Previously sworn in Ports and Aviation Minister Nimal Siripala de Silva also represents the SLFP. (Colombo/May23/2022)


- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x