10.2 C
Saturday, March 25, 2023

Asian Cricket Council (ACC) AGM in Colombo on Saturday (19) – The Morning

Must read

  • ACC Head and BCCI Secretary Jay Shah will be present
  • Taj Samudra will host the meeting
  • Sri Lanka confirmed as host of Asia Cup in September

By Revatha S. Silva 

Asian Cricket Council (ACC) Executive Board (14)*

President Jay Shah

Vice President Mahinda Vallipuram

Executive Board Members** (7):

Shammi Silva (SLC), Ramiz Raja (PCB), Nazmul Hassan (BCB), Azizullah Fazli (ACB), Ravi Sehgal (CAT), Khalid Al Zarooni (ECB), and Mohamed Faisal (CBM)

Ex-officio (5):

BCCI Treasurer Arun Singh Dhumal 

PCB CEO Faisal Hasnain 

SLC CEO Ashley De Silva 

BCB CEO Nizam Uddin Chowdhury

ACB CEO – to be confirmed 

Finance and Marketing Committee (4)*

Chairman Shammi Silva

ACC President Jay Shah

Development Committee Chairman Pankaj Khimji

Convenor General Manager – Finance and Operations Thusith Perera 

Members (3):

Nazmul Hassan, Nadeem Nadwi, and Rahul Sharma

Development Committee (4)*

 Chairman Pankaj Khimji 

 ACC President Jay Shah 

Finance and Marketing Committee Chairman Shammi Silva 

Head of Events and Commercial Prabhakaran Thanraj 

Members (4):

Faisal Al Marzouk, Mahmood Gaznavi, Ashok Nath Pyakurlal, and Manzoor Ahmad

ACC Member Countries (18):

Afghanistan, Bahrain, Bhutan, Brunei, China, Hong Kong-China, Iran, Kuwait, Malaysia, the Maldives, Myanmar, Nepal, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Thailand, and the United Arab Emirates (UAE)

*As of 2 February 2022

**SLC=Sri Lanka Cricket, PCB=Pakistan Cricket Board, BCB=Bangladesh Cricket Board, ACB=Afghanistan Cricket Board, CAT=Cricket Association of Thailand, ECB=Emirates Cricket Board, and CBM=Cricket Board of Maldives

The annual general meeting (AGM) of the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) this year is to be held in Colombo on Saturday (19).

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) President Shammi Silva told The Morning Sports yesterday (15) that around 40 delegates of the apex cricket body in Asia will be present at the occasion to be held at Taj Samudra Hotel, Colombo.

A preliminary discussion on the ACC AGM had been held between Silva and incumbent General Secretary of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) Jay Shah, in New Delhi last week. Shah is the current President of the ACC Executive Board.

Shah, son of Home Affairs Minister Amit Shah of the Narendra Modi Government, will be presiding over the AGM in Colombo.

The ACC Executive Board consists of about 40 representatives from member countries including officials from Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Malaysia, and Pakistan (see list attached).

Silva also confirmed yesterday that it has been finalised that the Asia Cup 2022 will be held in Sri Lanka in September.

The 2022 Asia Cup is to be the 15th edition of the Asia Cup cricket tournament, with the matches being played as Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is).

Originally, the 15th Asia Cup was scheduled to be held in September 2020 but it was postponed in July 2020 due to the Covid-19 pandemic. It was then rescheduled to take place in Sri Lanka in June 2021, before it was postponed again.

Then Pakistan was scheduled to host the tournament after retaining the rights to host its 2022 edition. However, in October last year, the ACC announced that Sri Lanka would host the tournament in 2022, with Pakistan hosting the 2023 edition. India are the defending champions.


- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x